Glossary of Airline Terminology

Geographic Regions

For reporting related to the conduct of scheduled service, DOT established in 14 CFR 241 four separate air carrier entities: (1) Domestic: All operations within and between the 50 states of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Canadian transborder operations; (2) Atlantic: All operations via the Atlantic Ocean (excluding Bermuda); (3) Latin: All operations within, to or from Latin American areas, including the non-U.S. Caribbean (including Bermuda and the Guianas), Mexico and South/Central America; (4) Pacific: All operations via the Pacific Ocean, including the North/Central Pacific, South Pacific (including Australia) and the Trust Territories. [Note: International denotes all operations not considered Domestic. System denotes the summation of Domestic and International operations.]

< Back to Glossary